September 2, 2009

  • The Boy and His Dog

    I’m not sure, but I think we might be proud parents of a dog… or a small pony, I’m not sure which.    If you’ve ever read the Mitford series, by Jan Karon then you’ll know his name “Barnabas” is no mistake.   The dog is bigger than a Pontiac.

      He was (is?) my parents dog, but they are moving to Guatemala, and after mom nearly gave him away to some guy in LA, we tearfully eloquently begged them to let us have the dog instead, because well…we love him.   The thing is, we weren’t supposed to officially make the transfer until next January, but we’ve been babysitting him for the last month and a half and I think he’s here to stay.   Thus, I introduce you to the newest but not smallest member of our family (he outweighs me by at least 5 lbs).  Barnabas.

    He is a super cool dog.  He follows Jamie around, up cliffs, down hills, under rocks and pretty much everywhere else but up trees.   He even naps at Jamie’s feet while Jamie is using the bathroom.  Gross.   But somehow it makes me feel better to know that my ever moving son has a personal body guard who can leap over small trees and snap firewood in half like it’s brittle wishbone.   So just in case any of you were thinking of carting Jamie off for ransom…don’t.  Just don’t.    In fact, I would not recommend rough housing or play fighting with my kids either unless Barnabas has approved of you first.   His daddy is a police dog and he takes the family business very seriously.

    Really, we have no complaints and the adjustment has gone beautifully.  He comes when called, doesn’t chew on furniture or bark unnecessarily . He eats his food with manners and his only vices are sneaking onto the carpeting (which he’s not allowed on), and running up to the main house to play with his brother Max.   It’s kind of problematic when your dog can open any door in the house as good as if he were human.  He sticks to us like glue until he realizes we are leaving somewhere and then he just lets himself out the back door and goes to his brother’s house.   It is far more annoying than it may sound.  Sunday, Jim had to go to work which left me and my non-morning self to somehow whip everyone into ship shape for church.  After I finally headed down the driveway, ten minutes late, makeup half applied and shoes in hand, I noticed Barnabas down the street.  Of course he pleaded ignorance at my repeated orders to go home, and he looked equally askance at my request to at least follow the car back, so I ended up leaving the car idling with the kids, and I running Barnabas home again.  Grrr…  Just what I wanted, another person in the house to take care of.  

    But how can you be mad at that adorable face?  I certainly can’t.

Comments (9)

  • awww! i’ve been wondering whether or not you were going to keep him for good. so happy. welcome, barnabas! looks like he makes one little boy very happy.

    ~*

  • aw, he looks like such a sweet dog and perfect for the kids to climb on :)

  • Barnabas is an AWESOME dog! He may be protective but he is sooooo sweet! I just love him. I’m glad you guys are taking him. Maybe he won’t be so neglected now. How did you EVER get Jim to let you keep him?

  • Awwwwww! German Shepherd, right? We’re thinking of getting a GSD for our next dog…

    Do I ever say anything other than “aww” on your blog? Sorry.

  • Love it!! I would like his brother, please. :)

  • so awesome. Rob and I desperately want a huge dog/pony like that, but moving internationally every two or three years would make it very hard. meh. love his name, and love the Mitford series. we named one of our basset hounds Dooley.

  • I love Barnabas… if we had more space, we would probably look for a Dutch shepherd, even though most Dutchies are smaller than B. (My aunt’s dog Kobe is a Dutch, and he’s basically the same personality as Barnabas, just a bit more reticent due to being abused as a young pup before my aunt and uncle rescued him.)

  • He sounds like a wonderful addition to the family! Although I secretly hope that when I have my two children, they will both be girls so that I’ll never be begged to get a dog (a boy’s best friend). I can’t even keep my plants alive, I seriously wonder what kind of mother I’ll be, and let’s just not even try to bring animals into the mix. Your parents are moving to Guatemala? What???? We need to catch up a LOT. Can’t wait to see you and Jim in just a few days!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *